Online | South London Saxophone Quartet Performance

40 Brunswick Square London WC1N 1AZ
17 Dec 2020 — 31 Dec 2021
  • Music
Enjoy a performance from the South London Saxophone Quartet, filmed in the Museum.

Museum concert regulars, the South London Saxophone Quartet, kindly visited us out-of-hours to record a performance in the Picture Gallery.

The programme:
Andante from Allegro de Concert by Caryl Florio (1879)
Air and Tune from Suite of Irish Folk Tunes by Josie Simmons (2017)
Claudia (Stompy Diva Cat); Whisper (The Sensitive Man); Raphael (Super Chill Cat) from The Cat Suite by Chris Frost (2020)

The South London Saxophone Quartet was formed in 2008 and have since been giving recitals in London and the Home Counties. Their repertoire spans music from the Baroque and Classical periods, through to Modern, Popular and Jazz. Chris is the Quartet’s tenor saxophone player, and you can find out more about his compositions by visiting his website. In addition to their concert series, the Quartet perform regularly at events, festivals, corporate functions and private engagements. The group’s members are Noëlle Sasportas (soprano), John Cook (alto), Chris Frost (tenor) and Debbie King (baritone).

Can you help?
We hope you enjoyed this performance. Covid-19 has devastated our income from admissions, tours, events, retail and venue hire. As an independent charity, we are relying even more heavily on donations to deliver our exhibitions, events and creative work with disadvantaged children. We would be so grateful for any contribution as every donation, no matter what the size, makes a real difference. Thank you.